you are your own hero

You are your unsung hero

I’ve been lying down in bed since yesterday. Ignoring everybody. Ignoring conversations. As if wallowing in self-pity was not enough, my body temperature seems to have raised with occasional coughing. 

But then an old friend came along with my roommate who made me realize that I was still grieving over something. 

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her 1969 book On Death and Dying introduced a model popularly known as the five stages of grief.

  • Denial 
  • Anger
  • Bargaining 
  • Depression 
  • Acceptance 

The model originally predicted the emotional states of terminally ill patients after the diagnosis but later was expanded to explain any form of personal loss ranging from the death of a loved one, a breakup to even minor losses. 

Life constantly throws us off in one of these stages. Sometimes, it’s easier to move through these because we have people around us who understand us and support us and sometimes we have to go through our demons alone. 

You are your unsung hero 1

I know that you have been through a lot. I know that the kind of things you’ve felt and experienced is unique to you. All your joys and hardships are yours. Of course, we can find something common between us and we have our fair share of shared experiences in life. But, life through your lens looks drastically different than the life through mine. 

As my friend put it “If your life were a motion picture, people would laugh and cry.” But that’s the beauty of life, you get to choose who to share your experiences with and to what extent. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *